You are the owner of this page.

About Us


The Lumberjack: An NAU tradition since 1914. is produced and maintained by staff of The Lumberjack newspaper and the Media Innovation Center in the School of Communication at Northern Arizona University.

Our goal is to bring the news that is important to you through an expanding variety of different media, including broadcast, web and print. The Lumberjack has been a Flagstaff staple since its founding as The Pine in 1914. In 1946, students voted to change the name to The Lumberjack, and the newspaper has gradually evolved into its current form as a weekly publication.

The Lumberjack has been the recipient of a number of awards from the Society of Professional Journalists, the College Newspaper Business & Advertising Managers and the Arizona Newspapers Association.




Executive Board

  • Matthew Strissel, Editor-in-Chief -

  • Ariel Cianfarano, Managing Editor -

  • Conor Sweetman, Director of Digitial Content —
  • Ashley Besing, Copy Chief —

  • Brady Wheeler, Print Chief —

Editorial Board

  • Owen Sexton, News Editor —
  • Chandler Staley, Assistant News Editor —
  • TBD, Senior Reporter —
  • TBD, Senior Reporter — 
  • Peggy Packer, Opinion Editor —
  • Maria Angulo, Assistant Opinion Editor —
  • Sebastian Moore, Culture Editor —
  • TBD, Assistant Culture Editor — 
  • Kade Gilliss, Sports Editor —
  • Bailey Helton, Assistant Sports Editor —
  • MaryAnn Witt, Features Editor —
  • Devyn Coons, Assistant Features Editor —
  • Shannon Swain, Director of Photography —
  • Shannon Ainsley Cowan, Assistant Director of Photography —
  • Michael Patacsil, Senior Photographer —
  • Katie Dobrydney, Director of Illustration —
  • Colton Starley, Senior Illustrator —
  • James Lemarr, Director of Mulitmedia —
  • TBD, Director of Social Media —

Faculty Advisors

Featured Video

Audio Stories

Print Edition