NAU Men’s XC win sixth national title in seven years, Women’s place sixth

Photo courtesy of NAU Athletics

Both NAU cross country teams excelled in the NCAA National Championships, with the men’s team winning its third consecutive national title, and the women’s team finishing in sixth place.

The men's team scored a total of 83 points which tied for first with Oklahoma State, but the Lumberjacks won the tiebreaker and earned the right to first place.

Sophomore Nico Young and senior Drew Bosley led the way for the Lumberjacks, with the two runners finishing in second and third place respectively. Young finished with a time of 28:44.5 while Bosley finished just a few seconds later with a time of 28:55.9.

Bosley and Young are only the second pair of NAU runners in school history to finish second and third in the National Championship. Young also became the third person in school history to finish in second place in a national meet.

NAU’s other scorers included junior Santiago Prosser who finished in 19th place with a time of 29:19.5, redshirt junior Brodey Hasty who finished in 25th place with a time of 29:27.2 and redshirt senior George Kusche who finished in 39th place with a time of 29:34.9. All five scorers for NAU earned All-American honors.

Fifth-year senior Ryan Raff and freshman Colin Sahlman also ran for NAU but did not score. Raff finished in 88th place with a time of 30:08.6 while Sahlman finished in 151st place with a time of 30:37.0.

The NAU women’s team finished the race in sixth place, its second-highest finish in school history, only behind the team’s third-place finish in 1991.

Junior Elise Stearns finished the race in fourth place with a time of 19:43.0 and was awarded her first All-American honor. Junior Annika Reiss finished in 47th place with a time of 20:16.0 while redshirt junior Jesselyn Bries finished in 67th place with a time of 20:24.1. The final scorers for the women’s team were fifth-year senior Bryn Morely, who finished in 95th place with a time of 20:36.6, and sophomore Alexis Kebbe, who finished in 99th place with a time of 20:37.2.

Fifth-year senior Taryn O’Neil and senior Meagan Van Pelt also ran but did not score for the NAU women’s team. O’Neil finished the race in 106th place with a time of 20:39.9 while Van Pelt finished in 112th place with a time of 20:42.8.

The women’s team finished with a total of 257 points and earned a sixth-place finish to cap off a historic season.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.